words to live by, ideas to hang onto

If anyone can do this, I can do this!

If anyone can get through this, I can get through this!

I have something worth fighting for: my relationship with John, the most important thing in the world to me besides my faith. He means everything to me.

BUT, if that falls apart, God forbid, I have something worth fighting for: MYSELF. Sometimes I feel like I’m a mess, that I don’t want to save myself. I’ve destroyed everything and I deserve to die. Well, maybe I have destroyed myself. But God Himself said, “O Israel, you have destroyed yourself; but in me is your help” (Hosea 13:9). I know He is saying the same to me. I know inasmuch as anyone deserves to live, I do.

More words:

“The trauma of the whole thing [splitting with her husband of 8 years] has been humbling, and for the first time, I’m a little bit wobbly […] I’m a case of arrested development, in a way – from spending your 20s with someone who really loves to take care of you, as my husband did. But I think it’s very healthy to spend time alone. You need to know how to be alone and not be defined by another person.” – Olivia Wilde

images via 1, 2

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

